

Association of Old Crows (AOC) India Chapter, Bangalore



A Report on AOC India Chapter Annual General Body Meeting (AGM) and Awards Function - AGM Day-2011

AOC India Chapter has just completed an eventful year since its inception in February 2010. Its first AGM was held in **Hotel Lalit Ashok, Bangalore on 7 May 2011**. The AGM was presided over by the president of the Chapter, Dr U K Revankar, Director, DARE (DRDO), Bangalore and was attended by



more than hundred members. The president made presentations on the Activities of AOC India Chapter and highlighted the Bye-Laws and Financial Details of the Chapter.

The AGM gave an opportunity to the members to appreciate and ratify the activities carried out by the Board of Directors, especially the National Workshop in EW (EWWI-2010), the growth of membership of the Chapter and institution of AOC India Chapter Annual Awards. Following

fruitful discussions on many points regarding the Chapter, members ratified and expressed confidence in the Board of Directors who would continue to further the cause of the Chapter's goal and objectives.

A directory of all AOC India Chapter members with the up-to-date details of them was distributed to all the attending members, which is seen as of great help in mutual interactions among members from DRDO, PSUs, Industry and the Services.

The AGM was followed by the AOC India Chapter Annual Awards Function - 2011. The Function was inaugurated in a traditional Indian style by invoking the almighty and lighting a ceremonial lamp. The

meeting was presided over by Dr. U K Revankar, Director, DARE, Bangalore and Shri G Boopathy, Director, DLRL, Hyderabad. Dr Prahlada, Chief Controller (Aeronautical Programmes), DRDO HQ, New Delhi, graced the occasion as the Chief Guest. Shri H V Harish, CEO, Spur India and the Secretary, AOC India Chapter delivered the Welcome Address.

In his presidential address, Dr U K Revankar explained the rationale behind the institution of the AOC India Chapter Awards and congratulated



the first batch of seven awardees. He stated that in the coming years, AOC India Chapter will present Awards in more categories like "Best EW Organisation of the Year Award" and "Best EW Product of the Year Award".

The first batch of AOC India Chapter Awards was presented on the occasion by the Chief Guest, Dr Prahlada, to seven eminent personalities from DRDO, PSUs, The Indian Armed Services and Indian EW Industry, who have immensely contributed to the field of EW in India.

Following is the list of AOC India Chapter Annual Awards – 2011 Awardees:



The "Best Contributor Award in EW from Indian Armed Services" is presented to Wing Commander NAND KUMAR NAIR, Directing Staff of Electronic Warfare Range, Air Force Station, Gwalior, Indian Air Force.

The "Best Contributor Award in EW from Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO)" is presented to Shri T N YADGIRI RAO, Outstanding Scientist and Associate Director, Defence Electronics Research Establishment, Hyderabad.





The "Best Contributor Award in EW from Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO), India" is presented to Shri K B Venkataraman, Scientist G and Associate Director, DARE, DRDO, Bangalore.

The "Best Contributor Award in EW from Indian Public Sector Units (PSU)" is presented to Shri I V SARMA,

Director (R&D), Bharat Electronics Limited, Bangalore.



The "Best Contributor Award in EW from Indian Public Sector Units (PSU)" is presented to Mr SHIRISH J BHOLE, Chief Manager (Design), Aircraft Upgrade & Design

Research Centre (AURDC), HAL, Nasik.



The "Best Contributor Award in EW from Indian Private Industry" is presented to Mr S BIMALKHEDKAR, Director, EWAS Technologies Pvt Ltd., Bangalore

The "Best Contributor Award in EW from Indian Private Industry" is presented to Col (Retd) H S SHANKAR, CMD, Alpha Design Technologies Ltd.



Dr. Prahlada, in his Keynote address on the occasion highlighted the importance of Electronic Warfare in all the domains of war – Land, Air, Sea, Space and Cyber Space. He said that managing the onboard energy requirements and need to miniaturise the sub-systems are the need of the hour. He suggested that EW Organisations need to concentrate on the technologies like Aircraft Body Embedded Antenna and the Onboard Systems like shared aperture that integrate and share multiple



functionalities to achieve the said goal. He also stressed the need to strengthen the Indian EW Industry with international collaborations.

Dr Prahlada observed that given the size of EW Industry in India, the membership of the India Chapter should grow up to order of 2000 members. On this occasion, acknowledging the constant support and guidance provided by Dr Prahlada to the AOC India Chapter, The President of the Chapter and the Board of Directors, AOC India Chapter,

conferred an Honorary Membership of AOC India Chapter to Dr Prahlada.

Mr Chandrasekaran, Treasurer, AOC India Chapter presented the vote of thanks on the occasion.

A **Technical Session** followed the Awards Function, wherein eminent speakers from Elettronica, Italy



gave impressive technical talks on the following two topics:

1. Cyber Defence and Electronic Warfare

by Dr. Massimo Giovacchini Manager, Elettronica S.p.A. Italy

2. Trends of Shipboard EW Integrated Systems

by Dr. Andrea De Martino

CTO, Elettronica S.p.A. Italy